flagnaacp-c012076.jpg flagnaacp-c012072.gif flagnaacp-c012070.gif flagnaacp-c012068.gif flagnaacp-c012066.gif flagnaacp-c012064.gif flagnaacp-c012062.gif flagnaacp-c012060.gif flagnaacp-c012058.gif flagnaacp-c012056.gif flagnaacp-c012054.gif flagnaacp-c012052.gif
Founders and Early Members
William Edward Burghardt Du Bois
Born February 23, 1868.
Died August 27, 1963
Ida Bell Wells-Barnett
Born July 16, 1862
Died March 25, 1931
Archibald Grimké 
Born August 17,1849
Died February 25, 1930
Henry Moscowitz 
Born CA. 1875
Died December 18, 1936
Mary White Ovington 
Born April 11, 1865
Died July 15, 1951
William English Walling
Born 1877
Died 1936
Florence Kelley 
Born September 12, 1859
Died February 17, 1932
Oswald Garrison Villard 
Born March 13, 1872
Died October 1, 1949
Learn More >>
Learn More >>
Learn More >>
Learn More >>
Learn More >>
Learn More >>
Learn More >>
Learn More >>
Learn More >>
Medgar Evers
Born July 2, 1925
Died June 12, 1963
Learn More >>
Myrlie Evers-Williams
Born March 17, 1933
Learn More >>
Oscar Micheaux
Born January 2, 1884
Died March 25, 1951
Learn More >>
Charles Hamilton Houston
Born September 3, 1895
Died August 22, 1950
Learn More >>
Roy Wilkins
Born August 30, 1901
Died September 8, 1971
Learn More >>
James Weldon Johnson
Born June 17,1871
Died June 26, 1938
Learn More >>
Carter G Woodson
Born December 19, 1875
Died April 3, 1950
Learn More >>
Rosa Parks
Born February 4, 1913
Died October 24, 2005
Learn More >>
Harry T. Moore
Born November 18, 1905
Died December 25, 1951
Learn More >>
Harriette V. Moore
Learn More >>
Martin Luther King Jr.
Learn More >>
Mary Church

© 2012 - 2014 Flagler County Branch National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

flagnaacp-c012026.gif flagnaacp-c012024.gif flagnaacp-c012022.gif flagnaacp-c012021.jpg
flagnaacp-c012020.jpg flagnaacp-c012019.jpg

Jacqueline Browne took the lead in reorganizing The Flagler County Branch of the NAACP when she was approached by individuals who had experienced bias within Flagler County. Mrs. Browne was a member of the Palm Coast Service District Advisory Council; Chairman of the Council’s Public Works Committee; Chairman of the Board of Directors of the African-American Cultural Society, and President of the Democratic Women’s Club, including a member and officer of numerous organizations in Flagler County and in New York.


She convened The Committee of Intent for the establishment of the Flagler County NAACP on August 5, 1999, at her home. The interim members elected were: Jacqueline A. Browne, president; Calvin Edghill, vice-president; Martha Doughty, secretary; Mildred O’Bryan, treasurer. Other members were Anne and Ralph Carter, Elsie Chappell, former Congresswoman  Shirley Chisholm, Joyce Cumberbatch, William Dowdy, Howard Elliott, Gloria Forrester, the Rev. Frank Giddens, Jr., Joyce Haynes, Shirley Horne, Jeanne Lea, Audrey Marcus, Jeroline McCarthy, William Robinson, Mary and John Scripp, and Howard Wilson.


The Committee worked to identify new and transferred members and obtain the branch charter that existed. Helping to secure the charter were: Daytona Times Publisher Charles W. Cherry and Jacques Hodge of the Volusia County-Daytona Beach NAACP.


On April 18, 2000, Whitfield Jenkins, third vice-president of the Florida State NAACP, and Thomas Poole, Sr., co-chair of the Branch Revitalization Committee, attended the general


membership meeting at Palm Coast Community Center and conducted a workshop on branch revitalization and the election process. They returned May 24, 2000, to review the nomination, the election process, and to conduct the election of interim officers for Branch 5147 of the Flagler County NAACP. The candidates listed on the ballot were duly elected - namely, Jacqueline A. Browne, president; Calvin Edghill, 1st vice president; William Robinson, 2nd vice president; Jeanne E. Lea, secretary; Elsie Chappell, treasurer, and directors Herman Bailey, Joyce Cumberbatch, William Dowdy, Howard Elliott, the Rev. Daisy Mae Henry, John Scripp, and Patricia Young. The appointed directors at a subsequent meeting were: Lucy Davis, James Haynes, Joyce Haynes, Audrey Marcus, and Robert Montgomery.


Mrs. Browne was the wife of Harold Browne and the mother of Janet Browne Avery and Judith Browne Dianis. Mrs. Browne earned her Bachelor’s and Master’s Degrees from New York’s Hunter College and a Professional Degree in Education from St. John’s University.  The educator became Deputy Superintendent of District 29 in Queens; Administrative Superintendent for School Improvement, and in 1987, was appointed Community Superintendent of District 25 in Flushing, Queens, overseeing the education of more than 23,000 students in 29 schools. On retiring, Mrs. Browne was appointed Special Assistant for the State Education Department Services for New York City schools. Moreover, she was a “Drum Major for Justice,” and often could be found leafleting, protesting, and “standing up” against injustice.

Annual Report
flagnaacp-c012016.jpg flagnaacp-c012015.jpg
The courage and commitment of these men and women leaders of the struggle for African-American civil rights energized a movement that spanned generations
General Membership Meeting Fourth Tuesday of the Month. Next meeting is Tuesday March 26, 2013 6:00 pm at the AACS # Flagler County Branch NAACP will host the Annual Freedom Fund Banquet on Saturday May 25th, 2013 at the Hammock Beach Resort # Join us on a cruise of the Eastern Caribbean March 30 through April 6, 2014 Contact Marie Winston-McCray 386-986-4847 #
Linda Sharpe Haywood

The NAACP was founded on February 12, 1909 by a diverse group composed of W.E.B. Du Bois, Ida B. Wells, Archibald Grimké, Henry Moscowitz, Mary White Ovington, Oswald Garrison Villard, William English Walling (the last son of a former slave-holding family), and Florence Kelley, a social reformer and friend of Du Bois. After a race riot in Springfield, Illinois in 1908, "The Call" went out to Northerners to find a way to create social equality.

On May 30, 1909, the Niagara Movement conference took place at New York City's Henry Street Settlement House, from which an organization of more than 40 individuals emerged, calling itself the National Negro Committee.

Jacqueline Arlene Browne
1932 - 2001


History of the Flagler County Branch
UPDATED BYLAWS for UNITS and Constitution of the NAACP
flagnaacp-c012004.jpg flagnaacp-c012003.jpg flagnaacp-c012002.jpg flagnaacp-c012001.jpg